Announcements‎ > ‎

USATF Georgia 2013 Annual Meeting Election Results Announced

posted Aug 16, 2013, 10:15 AM by Alpha Crush Running Club
Dear Georgia Members,
We were very pleased with the turnout we had at our annual meeting on Saturday, August 10, 2013.  We had 163 preregistered attendees and approximately another 25-30 that had not registered.

Honored with 2013 President's Awards were:
  • Honorable Casey Cagle, Lt. Governor's "Healthy Kid Challenge" Program 
  • Roy A. Neill, External Affairs & Marketing, Governor's Office "Healthy Kid Challenge" Program  
  • Sam Crenshaw, Sports Reporter/Anchor 11 Alive News
  • Smart Meet Management - Meet Management
  • Tia Jones, Elite Track Club - USATF National JO 110m/200m Champion Hurdler
  • Jon Ross - Photo Journalist
  • Kendell Williams, Gatorade National Girls Track Athlete of the Year, Champion 100m hurdler
  • Rik Moore and Josh Lovelady, Mill Creek High School - Hosts to our Association Championships.
  • Murray Sanford, Past President and tenured Officials Chair 
Keynote Speaker Adam Nelson, 2004 Olympic Gold Medalist
In a long and brilliant career, Adam Nelson has qualified for a total of five World Outdoor championship teams and earned seven world and Olympic medals, which includes the 2004 Olympic Gold.  We were very honored to have him as our guest. He inspired us all as he spoke about the early days of his career, "I was the worst 8th grade shot putter in our group but I stuck with it, and it paid off."  We are very happy that Adam found his forte in shot putting. 

Election Results:
This year was an exceptional year since we had multiple candidates for several positions.  We were excited to see that so many members were interested in serving the Association on a higher level, enough so that there were several run off elections.  The following are results of all elections:

***Executive Officer Elections***
(New Officers take office November 1, 2013)

Candidates - President:
Ian Dube (incumbent),  Inez Finch, Jacqui Collins

Elected President:  Inez Finch

Candidates - Executive Vice President:
Ron Williams, Mike Spino, Ian Dube

Elected: Executive Vice President:  Ian Dube

Candidates - Vice President, Communications
Marlene Atwood, Charles Muhammad, Rhonda Broome

Elected Vice President, Communications:  Marlene Atwood

Candidates - Vice President, Sponsorship/Marketing
Mike Judge (incumbent), Charles Muhammad, Mathew Chestnut (withdrawn)

Elected Vice President, Sponsorship/Marketing - Mike Judge

Candidates - Secretary
Kristy Gee, Jean Williams, Jacquelwyn Anthony

Elected Secretary:  Jean Williams
Candidate - Treasurer
Tricia Jenkins (incumbent) - Elected by Acclamation

***Committee Elections***

LDR Committee:
Mike Spino, Chair
Shawanna White, Vice Chair
Sonja Robinson, Secretary

Masters Committee
Jim Bitsko, Chair
Tina Klein, Vice Chair
Cassandra Harris, Secretary

Race Walk Committee:
Jim Norvill, Chair
Celso Fernandez, Vice Chair
Jean Williams, Secretary

Track & Field Committee:
Gwen Loud-Johnson, Chair
(Committee to be selected at a later date)

Youth Committee:
Jacqui Collins, Chair

Monica Ross, Vice Chair, Operations
Lamar Grant, Vice Chair, Admin
Arlena Epps, Secretary

Officials Committee:
Bob Brier

Darren Johnson
Phil Ozell
Tom Shinnick
Cindy Slayton
(Committee elects it own chair at future meeting)

Coaches Advisory:
Tony Dunning, Chair
Neil Young, VIce Chair
Cassandra Harris, Secretary

Congratulations to all!
Bylaw Revisions:
Bylaw revisions that were approved during the annual meeting will be incorporated into our current bylaws, and an updated document will be posted shortly.